Event Report of IPS 2019 Annual Meeting and New Executive Committee Members

On September 26, 2019, the annual event of the WSBA International Practice Section (IPS) took place with a great turnout at the University of Washington School of Law.  After Outgoing Chair, Holly Vance, reported on the IPS’s activities of the immediate previous year, including IPS mini-CLEs and the annual spring event, the leadership was passed to Leonid Kisselev, the new Chair.  Matthew Dresden, who actively served for many years with the IPS Executive Committee, was commended for his outstanding work and dedication to the IPS membership.

Following the annual meeting, Lisa Herb, Executive Director, and Gayle Zilber, Mentor Program Director of the Alliance for International Women’s Rights, introduced their Empowerment Programs, consisting of the English Program and the Mentor Program, to support women in developing countries.

At the reception, legal professionals and students connected and re-connected through dining and conversation.

The following is the list of the IPS Executive Committee members for 2019-2020.  The list is also available at the “Executive Committee” page of the Global Gavel.

Chair                                Leonid Kisselev
Chair-elect                       Carly Chan
Secretary/Treasurer         Monica Sham
Immediate Past Chair      Holly Vance
Communications              Eriko “Elly” Baxter

Executive Committee Members
Megan Lutes (2017 – 2020)
Prof. Dana Raigrodski (2017 – 2020)
Larry Ward (2017 – 2020)
Chris Pothering (2017 – 2020)
Linda Chu (2018 – 2021)
Qingqing Miao (2018 – 2021)
Jenny Salomon (2018 – 2021)
Francisco Gomez Olmedo (2019 – 2022)
Robert Richardson (2019 – 2022)
Ivana Guida (2019 – 2022)
Fred Rocafort (2019 – 2022)


12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

Please visit HERE for the original announcement of the IPS 2019 annual meeting event.