Event Report: IPS 2020 Annual Meeting and New Committee Members

Categories: Uncategorized

The WSBA International Practice Section held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on September 24, 2020. Due to the ongoing pandemic, this year’s AGM took place entirely online. About 40 lawyers and law students participated in the virtual meeting.

Outgoing Chair Leonid Kisselev reported on IPS activities for 2019-2020, including IPS mini-CLEs, mentorship program and happy hours hosted online. Monica Sham, treasurer of the IPS, shared information about section finances. Incoming Chair Carly Chan reported on leaving and incoming executive committee members.


Chair: Carly Chan

Chair-elect: Eriko “Elly” Baxter

Secretary/Treasurer: Monica Sham

Immediate Past Chair: Leonid Kisselev

Communications: Sara Xia

Executive Committee Members

Linda Chu (2018 – 2021)

Qingqing Miao (2018 – 2021)

Jenny Salomon (2018 – 2021)

Francisco Gomez Olmedo (2019 – 2022)

Robert Richardson (2019 – 2022)

Ivana Guida (2019 – 2022)

Fred Rocafort (2019 – 2022)

Prof. Dana Raigrodski (2020 – 2023)

Larry Ward (2020 – 2023)

Elena Dzhalazova (2020 – 2023)

Joelle Hong (2020 – 2023)

The list of new IPS Executive Committee members and their contact information are available on the Executive Committee page.

Following the meeting, Melody Young, a senior attorney at Kids in Need of Defense, gave a presentation discussing new immigration policies, particularly the new proposed regulations on asylum and the migrant protection protocols.

After the presentation, participants stayed and connected with each other through online chat and trivia games.